I went to a photo seminar this weekend.  I had never been to one of those before.  I’m not going to lie, it was a little overwhelming on several different levels.  It was a fantastic time though.  I was able to learn from some of the best photographers in the business and catch up with some of the best in the state, many of which I worked with when I was working at the Daily Nebraskan.  I felt a bit like the odd ball being a photographer who doesn’t take pictures.   There really was one main reason for me going though.   A photographer, Lane Hickenbottom, one of those I had run into while at the DN and one of the best wedding photographers in Omaha right now gave a seminar on how to develop a photography business, rather timely given the current state of shambles the news industry is in.  I’m looking at doing something kinda like what he’s doing.  Not become a wedding photographer, I ‘m not planning on doing that, I’d just refer you to Lane if you did, but I am looking at getting something else going.  Kinda similar, I’m not ging to give a lot of details at this point, because I don’t have a lot of details yet.  He covered a lot of stuff that I never would have thought of.  That’s the information I’m going to remember and there was a lot of good stuff.

He gave us a little home work assignment, which I think I’ve taken care of up in here, but I need to get on to some actual homework for my class this week.

I’ll post some of the links from the other photographers later this week, there’s some stuff you guys need to see.  Really powerful stuff.

