I think it’s time I come back to the blog-o-sphere.  It’s only been, what, 8 months since my last post? 

There’s been a lot happening lately.  The Haiti quake has raised a lot of questions in my mind and heart over the past week.  As I wrestle with those I can’t help but ache for the pain suffered by those in the small island country.  One of my favorite pastors I listen to on-line frequently is Mark Driscoll.  He started an organization just after the quake called Churches Helping Churches.  They’re putting together a documentary of their trip there last week and will be presenting it on Sunday.  I’m expecting it to be great and extraordinarily difficult to watch. 

It’s been gut wrenching and encouraging to hear from those we’ve interacted with for those of us who have been there.  At Grace, we’ve been getting constant updates from Dony and El Shaddai in Las Cayes as they keep us updated on how to pray and what is happening as they try to dig out from the rubble.  The stories of lives lost and families destroyed crumble the heart.  The stories of the power of the Gospel and the love of Christ bring life and encouragement.  The juxtaposition is striking.  I don’t know what to do with these feelings most of the time.  I’ve been struck often this week at how difficult it is for MY heart to break when I see and hear this.  The calloused nature of my heart is more apparent every day.  Oh, Lord!  How I need the gospel in my life.  All I can do now is give a little spare change and pray a lot.  I ask you do the same if you haven’t already.  There are many worthwhile places you can do that.

I leave you with this quote from C.S. Lewis that John Piper posted on facebook this morning.  I struck me deeply when I read it.

You will certainly carry out God’s purpose, but it makes a difference to you whether you serve like Judas or like John.

I pray it’s more like John.

